Desiring Life

Where have you been? Where are you going? And why?

Greatest Weekend in Sports

I know I haven’t blogged in awhile. I know. It’s just been terrible. And I need to do better. But there’s lots of reasons why. WordPress stopped sending my paycheck. They said it was lost in the mail. (My agent has since taken care of that) It snowed here in Tennessee one weekend. Who can write when it snows? My family kept baking cookies over vacation last week. That really doesn’t have anything to do with anything. But they were good. And finally, the greatest weekend in sports has been upon us: the NCAA tournament. Who really has time to write during forty-eight games in a four day span? (Don’t answer that sports writers; I’m so thankful for you)

This year’s tournament has been extra fun for a couple reasons. First, my team actually has a chance this year, despite getting the shaft in a couple different ways. Tennessee finished the season with an #1 RPI ranking only to be rewarded with a #2 seed AND a second round match-up with tenth ranked Butler AND a possible Elite Eight game with the country’s best team, North Carolina. That being said, I’m just grateful the Vols made it into the Sweet 16 with the way they’ve been playing. Shannon and I were in Atlanta for their dismal showing in the SEC tournament. And by the way, if you’re ever in a city during a tornado, don’t stay up on the 16th floor of your hotel, curiously peering out the window.

Other highlights of the tourney…watching Drake’s point guard, Adam Emmenecker, play. Seeing Western Kentucky hit a buzzer beater to beat that Drake team. Watching little ole’ Belmont take Duke to the last ten seconds. Two twelve seeds in the Sweet 16, and Kentucky going home early.

By far the coolest thing that I’ve found during my tournament experience is on CBS’s website. CBS actually allows fans to watch every game online. Best of all, though, is that there is a button under each screen labeled “Boss Button”, for all those basketball junkies trying to catch some of the games at work. When watching a game, simply clicking the Boss Button will immediately bring up a spreadsheet and accompanying graphs on a lot of nothing. Hilarious. You can find it by going to CBS and first clicking on the basketball coverage page. Then look for the red Boss Button just below the screen.

On to the Sweet 16…

One response to “Greatest Weekend in Sports

  1. Ted Ancelet March 25, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Hey Luke…it is a great time in sports and nice for it to be a great time in TN! I saw that John Eldredge is coming in to FBC…that’s pretty cool. You’ll have to let me know how it turns out.

    Hope all is well with you guys, tell Shannon the A-team (which has a new member by the way :-)) says hi.

Leave a comment