Desiring Life

Where have you been? Where are you going? And why?

Back to Hogwarts

I’ve never run a marathon, but those who have tell me that by a certain mile marker, you lose feeling in your legs, feet, and toes.  It becomes a mental discipline of willing yourself to move one foot in front of the other for miles.  It should be noted that the people I’ve talked to are not Kenyans.

My wife and I are two and half miles in on a seven mile Harry Potter movie marathon.  Granted, I contemplated paralleling our “journey” to an overdose rather than a marathon.  Someone told us that the final Harry Potter movie must be seen in the theater.  So with limited time until it transfers from Carmike to the ambiguous Netflix home in the sky, we’re watching all of the previous seven (No, that was not me at the library wrestling movies 4, 5, and 6 from that 8 year old with a ponytail and pink backpack- I actually beat her in a footrace from the parking lot so it would not come to fisticuffs).  I’m of the species that prefers not to watch a movie depicting a book if I’ve read the book first.  Hence why I’ve put off watching thus far.  But, to be thrown back into the world of Hogwarts…Quidditch and Invisibility Cloaks and the Nimbus 2000 and Gryffindor and Hagrid and Platform 9 ¾ and well, this is looking more like overdose.  Once an avid campaigner against this Potter madness (see H.O.H.P.A.), I’m now thoroughly enjoying this marathon through Rowling’s masterpiece of a world.  Perhaps I’ll have to buy one of those 26.2 bumper stickers for my car.

Leave a Reply

