Desiring Life

Where have you been? Where are you going? And why?

We Want Jimmy

This borders on heretical.  To change the words of a god and make them mine.  He, the shy type that wouldn’t rock a boat, who walked into that town meeting with the world in his hands.  The tension in the air made it difficult to breathe.  Likely only the extremely young and old stayed home that night.  The highly controversial coach with a suspect past awaited his fate as Hickory’s high school basketball coach.  The disgruntled town’s yea’s and nay’s had already been counted.  And then Jimmy walked in.  The greatest basketball player Hollywood has ever produced stepped up to the podium, and with this one sentence transformed Coach Dale’s job, the movie, and my life: “I don’t know if it’ll make any change, but I figured it’s time for me to start playing ball.”

Cue the music.

I don’t know if it’ll make any change, but I figured it’s time for me to start writing again.

One response to “We Want Jimmy

  1. Ruthie May 22, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    AMEN!
    The world has missed your voice. At least I have… but then I’m your mother and i’ve been listening to it longer than almost anyone else in this world.

Leave a Reply

