Desiring Life

Where have you been? Where are you going? And why?

Isaiah, My Knight in Shining Armor

Thursday I took Isaiah and the twins to the library for a change of scenery.  During our stay, I followed Summer and chased Isaiah who chased Maren and entertained plenty of pleadings to check out this and that.  Somehow four year-old Isaiah’s initial desire for Curious George took a backseat to the undiscovered world of X-Men and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.  While I ran after kids, the weather outside transformed from 95 degrees and sunny to threatening thunderstorms.  I decided to stroll the babies home quickly rather than wait out the storm while Maren’s drowsiness progressed into a further tantrum.  Isaiah panicked as he saw the dark clouds.  As he trembled, he suggested we walk faster and faster.  Within three minutes of home, he slowed his pace and offered, “Luke, I just want you to know that if lightening strikes you and you die, I’ll take the babies back.”

Grateful and curious, I asked, “Where will you take them?”

“To your house.”

“Really?  How will you get in?”

“I’ll get the key from you just before you die.”

“What will you do when you get back to the house?”

“I’ll put Maren to bed and then play with Summer until she gets tired.”

“Wow, thanks Isaiah.  Thanks for wanting to take care of them,” I said quite proud of his gallantry.  Selfishly I had to ask, “What about me?”

“You’ll be dead.”

https://desiringlife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

