Desiring Life

Where have you been? Where are you going? And why?

Saturday Citation: Toivi Blatt

On his reflections of the Nazi labor camp at Sobibor:

People asked me, “What did you learn?” and I think I’m only sure of one thing- nobody knows themselves.  The nice person on the street, you ask him, “Where is North Street? And he goes with you half a block and shows you, and is nice and kind.  That same person in a different situation could be the worst sadist.  Nobody knows themselves.  All of us could be good people or bad people in these [different] situations.  Sometimes when somebody is really nice to me I find myself thinking, “How will he be in Sobibor?”

-taken from Auschwitz by Laurence Rees

Leave a Reply

