Desiring Life

Where have you been? Where are you going? And why?

The Jesus Storybook Bible

The Jesus Storybook Bible

I just began reading The Jesus Storybook Bible by Sally Lloyd-Jones, and I must say whether you have children or not, go buy this book.  It’s all so simple really, this gospel story.  So simple that an adult can fall in love with God through a child’s fairy-tale.  And Sally helps me remember that if it is anything, it is a story first and foremost.

“It’s like an adventure story about a young Hero who came from a far country to win back his lost treasure. It’s a love story about a brave Prince who leaves his palace, his throne, everything to rescue the one he loves. It’s like the most wonderful of fairy tales that have come true in real life.

You see, the best thing about this story is-it’s true.

It takes the whole Bible to tell this story. And at the center of the Story there is a baby. Every story in the Bible whispers his name. He is like the missing piece in a puzzle-the piece that makes all the other pieces fit together and suddenly you can see a beautiful picture.

And this is no ordinary baby. This is the Child upon whom everything would depend. This is the baby that would one day-but wait, our story starts where all good stories start. Right at the very beginning…”

I first heard of the book at Andrew Peterson’s Behold the Lamb of God concert.  Peterson, too, is a writer captured by the power of living in a meta-narrative.  The entire album focuses on telling the story up to the climax.  As I listened to the music and his commentary on The Jesus Storybook Bible, I pondered our Christian culture’s embrace of story.  It seems to be catching on, though I fear the reception of masses will only dilute it as it becomes a fad.  I remind myself that it’s nothing new.  In her introduction, Sally Lloyd-Jones borrows Chesterton’s line, “I always felt life first as a story; and if there is a story, there is a storyteller”.  Stories are not going anywhere; they will live as long as people.  Whether or not the literature, songs, and blogs continue to embrace the vehicle of story to experience the gospel, it doesn’t really matter.  God will still be at work, writing, inviting us to be with Him.

For now, may your childlike heart be invited into the Fairy-Tale.

3 responses to “The Jesus Storybook Bible

  1. Shane December 22, 2008 at 4:46 am

    Hannah read through 30 pages of it tonight on her own. Good stuff… she loves the illustrations also. Glad we have it.

  2. Ted December 22, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    HEY LUKE…long time no “comment” 🙂

    We just got “The Jesus Storybook Bible” last week and I love it! I read it at night with our three oldest and I’m not sure who likes it more me or them. I’ve done A LOT of looking to find something to walk through with our kids, but honestly most of the stuff out there is really bad. I had given up until a friend gave us “Storybook” as a gift thinking it sounded like something we would like…he was right. It is a great reminder of the simplicity of God’s story and that the center is NOT us but Jesus. Now I, like you, am telling everyone I know about it.

    Anyway, just thought I would share. MERRY CHRISTMAS!

  3. Luke December 22, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Shane and Ted, I’m with you both. I’m already trying to think of the different ways I can use it.

    Great to hear from you, Ted. I’d love to hear about things with the new adopted baby/babies? Please tell your family Merry Christmas and hello.

    Shane, I already told you Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

