Desiring Life

Where have you been? Where are you going? And why?

Update #8: Radiating News

To those of you caring enough to check up on me lately, I apologize for no recent updates. Things have been slow, but seem about to pick up. Early this week, we received word from a doctor in Houston. His news shocked us. The cancer, according to him, is actually 100% seminomatous. This completely alters the recommended treatment. Stage 1 seminoma patients generally receive radiation therapy rather than surgery or chemotherapy.

The news initially devastated me. First and foremost, I’ve heard unhappy things about radiation, though doctors have recently preached differently. Secondly, though, it’s just hard hearing an expert share findings completely different than the four previous doctors. I could barely hear the news; I just wanted to rage. It seemed we were back starting from scratch. I’m so used to a life where easy fixes are standard. It’s a new and humbling place to experience experts disagreeing about my livelihood. The goal of trusting God maddens me here.

I have since calmed a bit. A doctor at Vanderbilt counseled me through the situation. We now need a referee, or an expert to look at the pathology slides without any previous bias. This doctor offered his reference to anywhere we would like to go. What a blessing: a man who could easily choose pride opting rather for delegation to a more knowledgeable source. We will be contacting more pathology experts to be that source. Please pray for favor and quick connections during these phone calls to doctors who do not know me. Pray that we choose the right place for the job. Thank you for caring enough about us to read this far. Blessings to you.

 

5 responses to “Update #8: Radiating News

  1. Bo Schwarz August 24, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    Wow. That’s tough to catch a curve ball at this stage. We’re continuing to pray for you.

    Bo and Sally

  2. Ingrid August 26, 2007 at 4:36 am

    I can’t even imagine how difficult this has already been. I am thankful that you at least have that doctor at Vanderbilt to be a reference for you. You have my continued prayers.

    Ingrid

  3. Patty (Durchie) August 26, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    Luke,
    Hang in there. I realize this is frustrating.
    I am praying that the road ahead will become clear soon.

    Patty (Durchie)

  4. Deb August 27, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    Luke,

    this is one of my most favorite verses, Isaiah 30:20-21

    Though the Lord gave you adversity for food
    and suffering for drink,
    He will still be with you to teach you.
    You will see your teacher with your own eyes.
    Your own ears will hear him.
    Right behind you a voice will say,
    “This is the way you should go,”
    whether to the right or to the left.

    you are not alone in this situation! the God of all creation, the source of all wisdom and discernment, is right there to give you what you need. I’m praying for you and Shannon, that you will have ears to hear, eyes to see, and a heart to trust.

    love you both,

    Deb

  5. James Wharton October 1, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    You are in my prayers!

Leave a Reply

