Desiring Life

Where have you been? Where are you going? And why?

The Lord of the Rings: Frodo Baggins and Sam’s Journey

Frodo and Sam journey to Mordor in The Two Towers

Frodo: I can’t do this, Sam.
Sam: I know. It’s all wrong. By rights we shouldn’t even be here. But we are. It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end. Because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened. But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines it will shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you. That meant something. Even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand. I know now. Folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back only they didn’t. They kept going. Because they were holding on to something.
Frodo: What are we holding on to, Sam?
Sam: That there’s some good in this world, Mr. Frodo. And it’s worth fighting for.

I hesitate to even comment on a picture painted so beautifully. I shudder at subtracting from the power of Sam’s words. I don’t know where you are on your journey towards life. Maybe further ahead than me. Regardless, this piece of Tolkien’s writings from The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers calls so deeply. I cling to it now. I’ve been Frodo, wanting with all my might to kill hope. The story grows ever so dark, and hope of a happy ending seems so futile. It’s in these times that I so badly need a Sam. From time to time there’s been one. He or she would remind me to hold tightly to the stories of victory, return, and restoration. It’s those stories that sustain me. They’re something to hold on to. There is good in this world, and it must be fought for.

5 responses to “The Lord of the Rings: Frodo Baggins and Sam’s Journey

  1. troepke June 12, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    Luke…you are part of the good in this world. you’re heart has been made good by the Father by the work of the Son, sealed by the Spirit. There is a strength that only you can bring. earlier this week i received an email from a good man who simply reminded me…that i needed to live from my good heart, because when i do nothing else in this world matches it…and when i don’t the world has lost a terrible treasure. amazing words. for me and for you. blessings!

  2. Danne September 17, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Can you please upload the scene to youtube!

  3. Luke September 17, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Hi Danne. I’d love to do that for you, except doing so is beyond my technological expertise.

  4. Motti August 17, 2010 at 6:55 am

    : ) Years ago I wrote out that whole quote/scene on a piece of paper which I still carry in my guitar case. And I quoted Samwise Gamgee on my blog too.
    I love the name of your blog, and the picture of the canoe too.

Leave a Reply

