Desiring Life

Where have you been? Where are you going? And why?

Decisions, Decisions

The following was written for the prompt “Decision” for Sunday Scribblings

 
I’m trying to decide right now, whether to write or not.  It’s a hard decision, one that could take the whole day to answer.  Maybe I should seek advice.  There are lots of wise people out there.  Some crazy ones, too.  They could direct me one way or the other, but then, how would I know whether they are crazy or not?  If I knew, then I would know whether to trust them and write, or not. 

I could consult Wikipedia.  Michael Scott does.  Okay, definitely no.  Not despite Michael, but because it’s him.  All this debate makes me hungry.  But if I leave the computer right now, I may never make it back.  That’s a decision in and of itself.  But I must focus on the main decision: to write for this post or not to.  The consequences of this decision overwhelm me.  What if I write something really great and someone from ABC news reads it and they want to have me on their morning show; they might tell me I need to publish it somewhere.  Or worse, what if a journalist reads it and criticizes my wording in tomorrow’s paper.

What I need is a good prompt.  Umm…bad excuse.  What I really need is someone to simply dictate for me.  But what if they’re an idiot? That would be a waste of time.  Well, my task list for today is so long.  In fact, it’s alphabetized, which makes “Writing” second to last on the list, just before yodeling.  Ah, the pressure lifts.  But, what if I call it “Blogging” instead of writing, then it’s at the top of the list and the anxiety returns.  I can’t handle this burden.  I’ll wait until next Thursday’s prompt to write.

 

4 responses to “Decisions, Decisions

  1. whypaisley August 4, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    well… never fear thursday will be here before you know it… in the mean time…. keep deciding not to write… it looks good on paper…..

  2. Redness August 6, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Ahhhh procrastination … a great decision! Love it.

  3. gautami August 6, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    THe right decision is to write always. It does not matter what we are writing as long a the words flow.

  4. Luz E. Zamot October 8, 2007 at 7:47 am

    I agree writing your blog is the best thing you can do Why because there is a lot of people who care about others.
    So let the world know about your journey. We will grieve with you, we will give you a loving smile and let you know that we are with you and most of all you will be reciving our prayers and God listens to our prayers so I Prase the Lord.
    Thourgh out this Journey he will be sending you many Angels to guide you so never say no to whom ever wants to be close to you.
    God bless you and your family.

    love Luz Esther(Lucy)
    from Puerto Rico
    keep on writing your blog. and keep me in touch|

Leave a Reply

